Journal #10

Posted: April 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

Funeral services done, and I’m quite happy to have closure.  It was surreal seeing my friend the way he was, as he didn’t really look himself.  One thing in particular was the smirk that normally adorns his face was no longer there.  It’s amazing how much a smile can do in life – and how noticeable it is when it’s gone.  I couldn’t get myself to attend his cremation service, though.  The thought of it just scared me. May he rest in peace.

I actually managed to read the Nike article as well as the Levis article.  Like I regarded in my comment card during lecture, I wasn’t surprised by much of the negative aspects of outsourcing. At the cost of the welfare of so many populations, we reap the benefits of cheap products.  It’s just so ironic as many of the low income populations have little to no choice but to purchase goods that are produced under poor labor conditions – when they’re most likely the ones who understand and would oppose such treatment.  How do we end the cycle?  There was the suggestion of having more expensive products (after raising wages of laborers), but is this sustainable for low income communities living in the United States as well?

I really liked the strategy that Levi’s proposed in the article about them looking towards long term efforts in working ethically to promote not only better business but just better conditions for everyone involved. At the cost of some profits, welfare is better for everyone.  This is how I feel businesses should be run, where not only one party reaps the most benefits.

How some businesses can engage in labor systems where labor is so heavily exploited, I just don’t even understand.  Isn’t there a heavy feeling on those individuals?  Or is all empathy.. even sympathy.. just thrown out the window in favor of greed?  What is the driving force behind for-profit businesses? Is it really greed? It’s easy to claim that it isn’t, but how much can we really believe these profiteers?

Comments
  1. inochangus says:

    I definitely question the same thing as you a lot. I think this moral problem has a lot to do with the cultural shadow that forms the larger context to our personal shadow. Our society trains us to be profit-seeking and finding “instrumental reason” to be economic in all our decisions.

Leave a Reply

