Journal #4 – The Patient Seer

Posted: February 24, 2011 in Weekly Journal Entries


I want to say that I am familiar with the virtue of patience, so pa.  For the most part, others have described me as a patient individual who reacts not with anger but with thought.  The Dalai Lama states that so pa/patience “acts as a powerful antidote to the affliction of anger – the greatest threat to our inner peace, and therefore our happiness” (106).  While I agree with this statement and try to practice patience in all settings, is it ALWAYS the antidote?  There are instances where I feel as if patience is a short-term antidote that allows the mind to stray away from the situation at hand until it returns as a source of annoyance again.

I guess the issue I am trying to approach is again that roommate of mine.  He has many habits that annoy and frustrate me, but none are done intentionally to anger me (or at least I hope not).  I try to practice patience in most, if not all, aspects of my life, but often allow that patience to just let situations handle themselves rather than acting rationally upon that patience.  While it works for the most part as others realize their actions, it just does not work with my roommate.  In this case, is it necessary to raise discussion with him on every single point of annoyance/anger that he causes?  I have come to understand that his mannerisms reflect how he grew up in his own household, but they are just so conflicting with my own mannerisms and values!  Do I then approach him after quelling anger through practicing patience each time, or is it best to accept his habits so no tensions may exist in our living and working relationship?

To share a bit more of my personal life, I have actually posted a note on our door asking people in general to knock before entering if the door is closed.  This is because every single time I have closed my door to change my outfit, he opens the door without a care – one time when guests were visiting so that he could show them our room!  I was luckily dressed already, but imagine how embarrassing that situation could have been and the reactionary anger that could have erupted from me.

Moving away from that persistently annoying individual, I want to mention the optical illusions that the Professor has presented in lecture.  He mentioned a take away message with those illusions that not everything we perceive is what is actually there.  Is this a connection to the idea of the practice of patience?  Is the message then that we are to not jump to conclusions or hastily react to things without patiently taking matters into consideration?  I’m not sure if the Professor was trying to make that connection, or if I just made that up myself.  So pa is a great virtue, no doubt.  In many situations, it has saved me from rash decisions or enraged arguments.  Is there a limit to it, though?  Can patience only run so far before action must be taken?

Leave a Reply

